Isle of Skye Hotel | Luxury Hotel Isle of Skye | Hotels Skye Isle of Skye Hotel | Luxury Hotel Isle of Skye | Hotels Skye Isle of Skye Hotel | Luxury Hotel Isle of Skye | Hotels Skye Isle of Skye Hotel | Luxury Hotel Isle of Skye | Hotels Skye Isle of Skye Hotel | Luxury Hotel Isle of Skye | Hotels Skye

Quick Enquiry

DUISDALE HOUSE

our reviews

Duisdale House Hotel is a romantic 4 star hotel on the Isle of Skye off the West Coast, in Scotland. It’s good to hear people saying lovely things about what you do and raising the profile of your business to others. 

Read all about our January competition prize in conjunction with McEwen's of Perth last year.

press reviews

Please see below a selection of Press Reviews that Duisdale House Hotel has received over recent years:

Daily Mail - Lorne Gardner - (May 2014)

"If I live to be a hundred I will never have a meal in a more stunning location"

"Your own private yacht takes some beating.... the feeling was of being a central character in your own secret world"

"A weekend I will never forget... the emphasis is on luxury and clulinary excellence"

Sunday Express - Brian Swanson - (November 2013)

"Brings a whole new dimension to the luxury break...a revelation...everywhere a sense of calm coupled with the warmest of welcomes."

Manchester Evening News - Dave Lafferty -  (November 2013)

"On the evidence of our stay it'd be hard to argue with the judges who said Duisdale is the best hotel in Scotland... Impeccable food and service."

"The seven course menu was a treat to savour."

"Fantastic location...fabulously friendly owners."

Scottish Hotel Awards' Gold Guide to Scotland's Best Hotels 2013

"Contemporary, boutique, chic...Hearty welcomes from a dedicated teams who go the extra mile...Awesome views!"

Sabine Bouvet, Air France Madame Magazine, August 2013

"The highlight of my reporting trip to Scotland was cruising in the Hebrides on the yacht of Ken and Ann, owners of Duisdale House on Skye.  An idyllic experience worth of the Greek Islands!"

Woman’s Own, July 2013

“Duisdale is the ideal place to unwind. Luxury lodgings … first-class food …a great place to try Scotland’s amazing seafood – lobster, mussels, best-ever halibut.”

“Scotland’s dreamiest isle, Skye lulls you into a trance-like state with its amazing views.”

Easy Living Magazine, February 2013

Duisdale has been included in Easy Living's "100 Hot Hotels under £100" feature in its February edition (page 130)  and has also been listed in the "Top 10 on the beach hotels" as well.

"Views are of the 'wow' variety, as are the 35 acres of gardens and woodland with unforgettable vistas of the Sound of Sleat channels and mainland mountains beyond."

Press and Journal - Jane Candlish (January 2013)

"My Norwegian companion was delighted to sample some carefully crafted dishes including luxury ingredients such as pheasant, venison and salmon…. She said: 'This reminds me of the kind of food you see on Masterchef.'"

“If you enjoy a spot of luxury and need to keep an eye on your budget, Winter might be a good time to make a booking.”

Press and Journal - Laura Paterson (July 2012)

“It’s easy to see why Duisdale  has become so sought after for wedding receptions.”
“Playing hide and seek with a whale in a 42 ft yacht  I began to believe I had somehow …slipped into a parallel universe… Sailing on the Solus na Mara was the highlight of the trip, thanks to the on-board activities of exploring, sunbathing and nature spotting.  The hotel’s two AA red rosette restaurant is a top attraction for many visitors and the five-course dinner in the conservatory lived up to expectations.”

Daily Mail - Steven Henry (June 2012)

"Imposing Victorian on the outside, stylishly cool on the inside, Duisdale House hotel is the perfect blend of old and new.

Duisdale and nearby sister hotel Toravaig House offer some of the finest dining on the island. We ate in Duisdale's conservatory on our first evening. Canapes, followed by scallops, fresh wild sea trout, venison, local cheeses and oatcakes. Breakfast was sensational too. We couldn't have imagined a better meal but the chef at Toravaig, a few miles south, certainly gave Duisdale a run for its money. Crisp yet unctuous pork belly with rich black pudding and sweet scallops was the highlight of the meal...”

Sunday Sun - Peter Cox (June 2012)

"Boutique hotels Duisdale and Toravaig are beautiful... They are all about romance, chilling and sailing... Staff are exceptional.  Both restaurants pride themselves on using local ingredients ... Anne and Ken managed to grab some of the superb local seafood before the bulk of it gets hauled off to top restaurants. I had hake that was about as fresh as it gets!”

“Duisdale offers a memorable experience…. The entire team is warm, welcoming, chatty, helpful, smiling. The list could go on – truly top notch.”

Angela McKean, Scotland on Sunday, November 2012

“Our bay window offered marvellous views across the Sound of Sleat, the perfect morning invitation to escape from under the sumptuous down duvet bedecking the four-poster.”

“The daily set menu includes creative dishes using the best local produce, all beautifully presented.”

“Over at Toravaig House my scallops were quite simply the best I’ve tasted.”

Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards "Gold Guide to Scotland's Best Hotels 2012"

"The leading boutique hotel on the Isle of Skye ... Good food, glorious views and its own yacht."

Sophie MacGregor. No. 1 Magazine, August 2012

“Skye is breathtaking and so is Duisdale House Hotel. Go and explore both immediately.”  

“We were swept up in a friendly welcome by the staff … Our room was as comfortable and stylish as you could possibly hope and had a real luxury boutique feel with bright jewel tones, statement wallpapers and rich fabrics.”

“A trip on the owners’ yacht is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.”

The restaurant is one of the star attractions and after a meal there it is easy to see why. … My main course of lamb ... was absolutely delicious.”

John Humphries, Scottish Islands Explorer, August 2012

“I discovered that Skye can indeed be heavenly …award-winning establishments for design and decor, comfort and cuisine.”

“Ken and Anne have invested resources, energy and time into the creation of their hotels, with a particular attention to detail that is compelling to observe… so much pleasure-in-plenty.”

“Above all there is that sense of welcome, following the Gaelic precept of ‘befriending the stranger.’ “

Scotland Magazine, July/August 2012

"Boutique hotel Duisdale House, with its sea and mountain outlook ... can get your marriage off to the most beautiful and original of starts by including a yacht. What about a Champagne picnic on board, perhaps whale-watching, or at a quiet anchorage in some magnificent fjord-like sea loch?"

guest reviews

Our guests are the most important people to us and it’s so rewarding to hear what they think about what we do here on Skye.  See below a selection of reviews from guests who have stayed with us:

The Johansson Family - Ousala Sweden

A lovely place to celebrate mother in-laws 80th Birthday, Thank You.

MacMillans  - South Uist

Wonderful destination, well done to all.

Ariana & Julien -  Montreal Canada

We had a wonderful stay, Thank you.

Ian & Margaret MacPherson - New Forest, Hampshire

A wonderful week, food, service, staff all excellent - Thank you.

Sandra Porte - France

Wonderful hotel, lovely room and great food, Thank you.

Jacqueline Neil

A-MAZ-ING

Kenny & Suzanne Ross - Fraserburgh

Absolutly Beautiful, a truly enjoyable stay, Thank You

Rhona Dickson - Glasgow

Wonderful Wedding and Staff

Carole Porambo - Michigan USA

Beautiful + Classy, Loved the Stay and the monkey puzzle tree

Max Ketchin - California

First Class, excellent food, very friendly staff.

Jock & Fiona - Findhorn

Thank you very much, fantastic food, fantastic staff, fantastic setting, fantastic place to get engaged. Many Thanks

Mark & Elsie - Evanton

Wow!! What a fabulous experience! Beautiful setting, place & people – magical. Thank you all so much, the food was to die for!

Michael & Amy Fraser - Westhill Aberdeenshire

We have had an amazing honeymoon here – Top class, accommodation, food and staff. Thank you so much for a memorable experience.